I wrote a book; get Dreamscape for FREE!

Dreamscape Book CoverSome of you might be wondering why we didn’t publish a single article for the month of November. Well, this is why: I wrote a book! It’s a dystopian adventure following the innocent son of a dying dictator, and is available on Amazon Kindle here. I will soon be making the book available for FREE, and details of that are available at the end of the article.

How, do you ask? Maybe you’re even wondering ‘why bother’? Well to understand that, it might help to understand me.

I haven’t talked about myself much before. I don’t think it’s important, really. However, I sincerely do hope that my love for stories comes across in the articles I write. My love for these creative mediums is actually quite new for me, though.

With the attention span of a gnat, I never liked watching films or TV as a kid. I played videogames, and that was about it. Only when I went to university three years ago, when the amount of free time you have is just outrageous, did I discover cinema, and the art of creating worlds.

However cringe-inducing it might sound, my love for stories owes a lot to the Hunger Games series. That was only the second film I had brought for myself, and I only brought it off the suggestion of a friend I had just met at uni who wanted to see the second one in cinema the same week. Needless to say, I fell in love with it; I still say that The Hunger Games: Catching Fire is the best cinematic experience I’ve ever had, and I’ve been to the cinema plenty of times since then.

I then went and brought the books. These were the fictional first books I had ever read, which might sound kind of weird considering that I was about 19 at the time I read my first book. However, over 40 books later, and it’s fair to say that I am a huge fan of the medium, and, once more, the art of storytelling.

It was two years ago, after my first few steps into the bright world of culture that also led to the creation of this blog, that I decided that becoming a recognised author would be my life ambition. My first attempt at a book was so atrocious that it should never see the light of day. My second attempt (yes, it takes me about a year to complete a story right now), is Dreamscape.

“They are animals.”

In a world reduced to sand by the Tick, only one building remains. Dreamscape, a giant glass pyramid that reaches above the clouds, is the last hope of survival for mankind.

The Ranos family have ruled over Dreamscape for generations. Under Rex’s rule, Dreamscape’s residents have lived happy, prosperous lives. The Underworld is shrinking, much to everyone’s delight.

However, when Rex falls fatally ill, the world’s focus turns to his only son, Met. A lonely boy who has never left the family apartment above the clouds, Metro Ranos suddenly becomes the face of the dictatorship.

“They’re monsters.”

Angel lives in the Underworld, forced to cower under the protective Shield of Dreamscape. Her parents were killed by Rex Ranos when she was a kid. Now she lives in a bunker under the sand, working for the White Lightning rebel group, devoting her life to overthrowing the evil rulers inside the Crystal Castle.

Word of Rex’s illness reaches the outside world. A young, susceptible child is going to take Dreamscape’s rule. It’s a once in a lifetime opportunity, and Angel won’t let it get away from her.

Buy Dreamscape here!

Dreamscape is one of those books that alternates between two characters each chapter. I first discovered this form of writing in Marie Lu’s Legend series – books that I still believe are the best YA series I’ve ever read – and I think it helps me tell the alternating sides of the story with much more depth. I put a lot of effort into this, hence the serious drop in regular content over the last few months. While I do hope that my storytelling abilities will improve with age and experience, I still believe that this is a solid tale that should provide interest, especially to people who share my love of extraordinary worlds and exciting characters!

Thank you for reading through this. I didn’t want this to become some shameless plug, because I honestly hate some of the vain marketing that takes place in the world of indie publishing. I thought it would be better for you to understand me, and that might make you more interested in the book!

Now comes the marketing part.

I am making my first book available for FREE over Christmas! Woo, free reading for the holidays!

This offer lasts from Christmas Eve until the 28th, so make sure you get it while it’s hot! Besides, it’s free. It would be rude not to, I think…

I would love to hear your thoughts on Dreamscape, and indie writing in general. If you read it, let me know what you thought. I’m very inexperienced at this, and I’m constantly looking to improve ahead of my next story, which I’m currently putting together with an eye to getting it complete for Summer 2017. If there’s a lot of questions I’ll write a Q&A article, and if not I’ll get in touch with you personally or something, or maybe you can ask me on twitter ‘@TAYLOR_wrote’!

Thanks for reading, people!

Dreamscape Landscape Poster

Leave a Reply

