Inferno: 9mm Parabellum Bullet – Song of the Week

9mm Parabellum Bullet

This week’s Song of the Week is Inferno by 9mm Parrabellum Bullet.

Click here to listen now!

I don’t usually like including music from film and TV shows. You may argue that it was just a few weeks ago that I featured Mr Sawano’s Vogel Im Kafig, but that was one of my favourite pieces of all time. The truth is, I’ve been on holiday and only got back on Friday, so I simply thought I would feature the most exciting song I’ve heard these last few days (as oppose to all the chart songs I’ve been subjected to on my family holiday!).

9mm Parabellum Bullet – yes, that’s their name – are a four-piece rock group from Yokohoma, Japan. A country whose love of rock is very slowly ebbing into the western world through bands such as Baby Metal, 9PB (a nickname I’m just using for convenience) have had relative success in their homeland, with their second album Vampire (2008) reaching number 2 in the Japanese charts, and their over 5 albums from 2007 to 2016’s ‘Waltz on Life Line’ all coming around the 8/9th mark in the charts. They released a ‘greatest hits’ album in 2014, which gives you a sense of their longevity.

Inferno - 9mm Parabellum Bullet

The song Inferno (インフェルノ) is a piece made by 9PB last month specifically for the opening sequence of the highly anticipated Japanese anime Berserk, an anime that is currently airing, hence me discovering this song. The intro itself is incredible, and part of the reason for my adoration of this song, but there will be more about that later this week.

I’ve always said that it’s very rare that passion can be substituted when making a good song, and there is no risk of such a thing happening here. Fire and passion just explodes from this song from the very start, and it never really dissipated, rising and rising to a fire-blazing, heart-racing finish.

It’s a good thing this song starts quickly, because as you may have realised while listening, this is only a 90-second song. As mentioned earlier, it’s the length of the intro for the anime show, so there was no need for it to be longer. However, from what I could gather from the awkward translation of the band’s website, they consider this to be a worthwhile single of theirs (hence the music-video above), and I think if we’re going to allow songs that are five/six minutes long – considering 3 minutes to be the average – then a half-song such as this should also be enjoyed without prejudice. That being said, it doesn’t make writing about it very easy…!

I hope you enjoy listening to this fiery record, which – during the Rio Olympics – I can imagine would make an excellent pre-workout anthem, and as always have a great week, with lots of love from The Culture Cove!

The Culture Cove

Leave a Reply

