The Lumineers – The Lumineers (Album Review)

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/b/b8/TheLumineersalbum.jpg

I can’t believe that it’s been over three years since this Americana/folk group released their debut album. It turned out to be a rather surprising success, filled with a huge hit single. Although it’s been awhile and they’ve yet to release any other albums, I still felt like this was an album worth talking about. It’s filled with such fun and catchy tracks that I still listen to on an extremely regular basis.

Honestly, I can’t exactly pinpoint what is so memorable and cool about “Ho Hey.” I think it’s probably how fun it can be to belt at the top of your lungs, or maybe it’s the emotionally charged lyrics. Whatever it is, this is a song that has become one that pretty much everyone will recognize and likely know the majority of the words to if you play it. Although it’s played a lot on the radio, I still love it just as much as I did the first time I heard it.

“Flowers In Your Hair” is a seriously short song, but still one that sticks. It’s upbeat in the same way that “Ho Hey” is, but it also has an even more playful vibe to it. The lyrics are nothing but happy and free-spirited which I really love. “When we were younger we thought that everyone was on our side, then we grew a little and romanticized the time I saw flowers in your hair.”

“Stubborn Love” is a much slower and longer song as the previous two I mentioned. It’s filled with nostalgia and genuine emotion from lead singer Wesley Schultz. I love how powerful his voice is and that power is most prominent in this particular track. He sings the opening lines, “She’ll lie and steal, and cheat, and beg you from her knees, make you think she means it this time. She’ll tear a hole in you, the one you can’t repair, but I still love her I don’t even care,” with such strength and meaning. It’s absolutely a beautiful song that I could listen to again and again. While I enjoy the lighter upbeat songs, its songs like this that make me love The Lumineers even more than I already do.

One of my favorite tracks is the underrated “Dead Sea.” It hasn’t received the amount of attention like some of the others, but it was one that has managed to still stand out to me three years after its release. I wouldn’t call it a ballad or a fun dance track, it’s somewhere in between those two styles. I like the whole beat combined with the sassy and passionate lyrics. Schultz sings out the clever chorus, “You told me I was like the dead sea, you’ll never sink when you are with me.” He continues with, “I’m like the dead sea, nicest words you ever said to me. Honey can’t you see? I was born to be, be your dead sea.”

This is an album filled with a nice balance of anthems and ballads. The Lumineers may only have one album out so far, but they have still managed to attract a lot of attention from it, which is saying a lot about the awesome music they’ve managed to create here. If you have somehow not listened to this album, I suggest picking up a copy if you’re interested in folk/indie sounds. It’s just a fun listen all around that I’ll probably never get sick of!

Album review by Rachel Geiger

Leave a Reply

