Arctic Monkeys – Suck It And See (Album Review)

If you haven’t noticed by now, Arctic Monkeys are one of my all time favorite bands. I’ve already reviewed their last studio album “AM,” but I felt like “Suck It And See” was a great album that was right before “AM” was released. I felt like this was an appropriate album to talk about since it’s one of those releases that has an incredible summer vibe. Many fans of the band disliked how pop this album sounds, but I like how easy-going and fun this one is. I also loved Alex Turner’s songwriting and how upbeat it is as a whole.

The opening track on Arctic Monkey’s fourth album is “She’s Thunderstorms.” This is a song that ultimately sets the tone of the tracks that will follow it. It’s not a huge single for the band that did really well on the charts, it’s actually rather underrated. However, I like it more and more after each listen. It doesn’t have the most thoughtful lyrics, it’s pretty simple. But it’s lines like, “She’s thunderstorms in an unusual place, when you’re feeling far away. She’s what the night does to the day,” manage to stand out.

“Suck It And See” is obviously the title of the album and it’s a really significant track for the band. I love the lyrics of this and how genuinely catchy it is. It has positive feelings all around and I can’t help but love it automatically. Alex Turner sings, “I poured my aching heart into a pop song, I never got the hang of poetry.” It’s the type of lyrics that stick out in my mind for reasons that I’m not really sure of, but I enjoy listening to it nonetheless.

Alex Turner released a solo version of the song “Piledriver Waltz,” which was on the soundtrack of the movie “Submarine.” Personally, I prefer the version with the whole band. I think this is much more uptempo and the sound is what we’re used to hearing from the Arctic Monkeys. Turner has his own approach to the song, but it sounds better with his bandmates accompanying him on the track. Even though the band has many songs released, this one easily holds some of the best lyrics ever. “If you’re gonna try and walk on water make sure you wear your comfortable shoes.”

The lead single is the memorable song “Don’t Sit Down ‘Cause I’ve Moved Your Chair,” it’s a relatively hateful song, but still rather mild compared to some of the bands other hate tracks. Anyway, it’s one that manages to get stuck in your head. I never get tired of listening to it and the lyrics are distinctive and cool also. My favorite line is easily, “Do the Macarena in the devil’s lair, but just don’t sit down ’cause I’ve moved your chair.” I think I love this so much because of the crazy imagery that’s painted for us using creative pop culture references.

The last one that I want to talk about is “Love Is A Laserquest.” It’s probably my all time favorite Arctic Monkeys tune. It’s also the track that I always recommend to introduce people to this band. The big reason why I love it so much is definitely the melody and the beat behind it. Additionally, the vocals from Alex Turner come in so strong that it’s impossible not to be completely infatuated with every lyric he sings. Another memorable thing about this one is the lyrics are distinctively clever. “Love Is A Laserquest” is about the narrator (presumably Turner) being older and reflecting on this previous lover who meant more to him than he lets on. He manages to ask whether or not she has a new lover in the most creative way possible. “Do you look into the mirror to remind yourself your there, or has somebody’s goodnight kisses got that covered?” It’s just an amazing song.

In my opinion, Arctic Monkeys have a unique sound that may not always be what some consider to be a fun soundtrack to summer. However, this album in particular is especially filled with pop sounds. It makes the perfect soundtrack to put on repeat for any and all of your summer adventures!

Album review written by Rachel Geiger

Arctic Monkeys – AM (Album Review)

Leave a Reply

