We Are Your Friends (2015) – Tuesday’s Trailer

Yeah, I didn’t care that much about this either – I think people get put off by Zac Efron, personally. I remember this trailer coming out a few weeks ago and overlooked it. But, struggling to think of something to do for this week I gave this a look… now this film has me hooked, and it deserves your attention.

I don’t know much about the actual plot, but WAYF stars Zac Efron as Cole Carter, an aspiring DJ desperate to get out of his town and make a name for himself. Emily Ratajkowski – the girl from the Blurred Lines video – plays the female interest, but I think she’s just there for face.

When I first saw this I thought it would be some indie-flick that would be okay but not very memorable and, honestly, pretty cheap. However, it’s clear this has the potential to be quite the surprise success! As far as the trailer is concerned, the directing looks good, and Efron looks right at home with the role. This has a fun, almost cool factor running through it, kind of like a Hangover or 21 and Over style film.

The film is co-written and directed by Max Joseph. I think he’s known mostly for his work on TV series Catfish, but I have never seen it (we do have it in the UK, but I couldn’t care less, honestly). However, this is his first shot at directing and writing a feature-length, having previously done some shorts and documentaries alongside the TV show. It looks solid for the trailer, but will the script hold up for the whole movie? It will be interesting to see.

Set for release on the 28th August (although it might not be such a huge release as mainstream films) I know a lot of people around my age that will be thinking ‘that looks awesome, we have to see that’. With that in mind, I do think this has a small target market, and it might not make the biggest numbers in the box office due to its lack of widespread appeal. However, this could potentially be an excellent movie that people appreciate further down the line – but trailers have deceived before.

Leave a Reply

